Personnel

Lead contact for Statewide Turfgrass Extension Programming.

James McCurdy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Specialty: Turfgrass Extension Specialist
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Phone: (662) 325-2331
jmcurdy@pss.msstate.edu

For immediate assistance, please contact your county extension agent or feel free to contact any of our researchers and specialists below.

Gary Bachman, Ph.D.
Associate Extension/Research Professor
Dept. Coastal Research and Extension Center
Specialty: Ornamental Horticulture
Phone: (228) 546-1009
gbachman@ext.msstate.edu

Clarissa Balbalian, M.S.
Diagnostics Lab Manager
Dept. Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, & Plant Pathology
Specialty: Plant Pathology
Phone: (662) 325-2146
cbalbali@ext.msstate.edu

Christian Baldwin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Specialty: Turfgrass Management
Phone: (662) 325-8280
cmb907@msstate.edu

John Byrd, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Specialty: Invasive Weed Management
Phone: (662) 325-4537
jbyrd@pss.msstate.edu

Geoff Denny, Ph.D.
Assistant Extension Professor
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Specialty: Commercial Ornamental Horticulture
Phone: (662) 325-1682
gcd42@msstate.edu

Alan Henn, Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, & Plant Pathology
Specialty: Extension Plant Pathologist
Phone: (662) 325-4535
ahenn@ext.msstate.edu

Lelia Kelly, Ph.D.
Extension Professor
Dept. North MS Research and Extension Center
Specialty: Consumer Horticulture Specialist
Phone: (662) 566-2201
leliak@ext.msstate.edu

Blake Layton, Jr., Ph.D.
Professor
Dept. Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, & Plant Pathology
Specialty: Extension Plant Entomologist
Phone: (662) 325-2085
blayton@entomology.msstate.edu

Wayne Philley, M.S.
Senior Research Associate
Specialty: Turfgrass Breeding and Evaluation
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Phone: (662) 325-2728
wphilley@pss.msstate.edu

Mike Phillips, Ph.D.
Department Head and Professor
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Phone: (662) 325-2311
jmp657@msstate.edu

Wayne Porter, Ph.D.
Regional Extension Specialist
Specialty: Horticulture
Dept. Extension Southeast Region
Phone: (601) 482-9764
wporter@ext.msstate.edu

Barry Stewart, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. Plant and Soil Sciences
Specialty: Sports Turf Science
Phone: (662) 325-2725
bastewar@pss.msstate.edu

Maria Tomaso-Peterson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Dept. Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, & Plant Pathology
Specialty: Turfgrass Pathology
Phone: (662) 325-2593
mariat@pss.msstate.edu

Jeff Wilson, Ph.D.
Regional Extension Specialist
Specialty: Ornamentals, Landscape, Turfgrass, Fruits and Vegetables
Dept. North MS Research and Extension Center
Phone: (662) 566-8019
jwilson@ext.msstate.edu

One thought on “Personnel

Leave a Reply